David F. Chang, MD is a Summa Cum Laude graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School. He completed his ophthalmology residency at the University of California, San Francisco where he is now a clinical professor. Having chaired the ASCRS Cataract Clinical Committee, Dr.Chang has been on the ASCRS Board and Executive Committee since 2009 and served as the 2012-2013 president. He is past chair of the AAO Cataract Preferred Practice Pattern Panel and in 2009 completed his 5-year term as chair of the AAO Annual Meeting Program Committee. Dr.Chang also co-chairs the ASCRS Foundation and is the recipient of the 2019 AAO Humanitarian Service Award, and the 2020 Aravind Venkataswamy Award. He served as chief medical editor of EyeWorld, and Cataract and Refractive Surgery Today.

In 2006, Dr. Chang became only the third ophthalmologist to ever receive the Charlotte Baer Award which annually honors the outstanding clinical faculty member at the UCSF Medical School. He has received the highest honor for cataract surgery or for an international ophthalmologist from the following organizations: ASCRS (Binkhorst Medal), AAO (Kelman Lecture), Asia Pacific Association of Cataract & Refractive Surgery (Lim Medal), United Kingdom and Ireland Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgery (Rayner Medal), Canadian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (Award of Excellence/Stein Lecture), All India Ophthalmology Society (President’s Lecture), Indian Intraocular Implant & Refractive Society (Gold Medal), Italian Ophthalmological Society (Strampelli Medal), International Intraocular Implant Club (IIIC Medal), American-European Congress of Ophthalmic Surgery (Visionary Award), DOC-German Ophthalmic Surgeons (DOC Innovator Lecture), Chinese American Ophthalmological Society (Pioneer Award), Royal Australia and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (Gregg Medal), and the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (Jose Rizal International Medal). Including these, Dr. Chang has delivered more than 40 named lectures. In 2018, he was also voted the 5th most influential ophthalmologist in the world by the international readership of The Ophthalmologist.